DEAR STU: Looking for an Easter Brunch… don’t want to be part of a mob scene.

e2200

Reader KM & I Exchange Brunch Recommendations

I recently got a note through FaceBook from KM, a reader, asking me for brunch recommendations for this coming Easter Sunday. He correctly anticipated mob scenes at some brunch locales, and with Easter being only a few days away, I recommended a few places that I thought had great food, plenty of space, and take reservations. In the end, I asked KM for his brunch recommendations and he gave me a bunch! I’m telling you what… brunch is my fave fuckin’ meal of the week, Yo!

Hey there, I’m looking for an Easter brunch recommendation. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!
Glad to help, KM! Any parameters as far as how fancy / how pricey / location etc? Also: How many people in your party, and will there be kids?
I think probably $30 or under. Group of 4 adults. No location or other restrictions. I just don’t want to be part of a mob scene which may be tough to avoid on Easter.
Time is tight, but see if you can get a reservation at Ambrozia up on Merrimon Ave in NAVL. The last time I was there, the $20 fixed price menu was awesome, and very filling. Great atmosphere, especially for adults, and a fantastic bar program if you want drinks. If they are full, try for good old Chestnut’s on Biltmore Ave. Great food, under thirty bucks for sure, and a very comfy atmosphere. Finally, consider Isa’s Bistro right by the giant iron sculpture. The crab cake Benedict was awesome, and the room is huge and bright and sunny.
I hope that was helpful! If none of those work out, hit me up again, and I’ll suggest some others.
Awesome. We love the Ambrozia brunch. We haven’t had brunch at Isa’s or chestnut so we will maybe try something new. Thanks for the suggestions!
You bet! Happy brunching! Do you have any suggestions for me? I’m trying to hit all the brunches in town!
I think you’ve hit most of the places we like. We do like Limones. Desoto was pretty good and we like Mojo bluegrass brunch. Jerusalem Garden has some amazing potatoes on their brunch menu. Foggy Mountain also was real good and pretty quiet.
Mmmm! Good suggestions! I haven’t been to Foggy Mtn, J-Garden, Desoto, OR Limones yet! Gonna hit Foggy this Sunday. They make great food, so I’m sure their brunch kicks ass. Thanks, KM!
I love it! Just in case you didn’t know, I’ve been eating a ton o’ brunch and writing about it in a series for Ashvegas called A Month of Brundays. I’m very excited to try brunch at the places KM recommended! If you have brunch suggestions, please send them to me, and of course…

If you have questions for me, about where to eat, or what to eat, just PM me through my FaceBook page!

— END —

IMG_0273Stu Helm is an artist, writer, and podcaster living in Asheville, NC, and a frequent diner at local restaurants, cafes, food trucks, and the like. His tastes run from hot dogs and mac ‘n’ cheese, to haute cuisine, and his opinions are based on a lifetime of eating out. He began writing about food strictly to amuse his friends on Facebook.

__________________

External links:

avlfoodfans.com

ashvegas.com

stuhelmfoodfan.wordpress.com

facebook.com/stuhelmfoodfan

instagram.com/stuhelmfoodfan

twitter.com/stuhelmfoodfan

youtube.com/channel/stuhelmfoodfan

wpvmfm.org/show/asheville-food-fan

__________________

 

Leave a comment